Making It in 2012

When I was growing up I was told the same story as my fellow classmates…work hard, study hard and once you graduate everything will pay off.  Sure, there were times when I asked myself, “Is this the ‘right’ way?” Well, now coming out on the other side, I can safely say, it is…for me, at least. However, the fairy tale of going to college and landing the “dream job” mere seconds after stepping off the stage, is a dream now made of pipes.

After 2009, college graduates have been bullied by the economy. Many graduates are not even getting a job or they get a job that is not what they had in mind. The situation is less than ideal. The job market has become more competitive and one has to be ready to take all the right steps to “make it” nowadays.

So what is my very own recipe for successful job hunting? Networking, persistence, and research.

Let me show you how you too can implement steps for a successful job hunt. As an active job seeker, I came across a Marketing and Administrative Associate position found on LinkedIn. As stated in the posting, this position involves:

Job Description Summary:

This position reports directly to the Senior Vice President.

  • Organize, coordinate, and support business development and communications programs that persuasively describe and promote TenantAccess & PropertyAccess and its services to the appropriate audience, including customers, prospects, vendors, and employees
  • To utilize strong knowledge of SEO/SEM to promote TenantAccess
  • Collaborate with Senior VP on RFP preparation as well as pricing proposals as needed to support sales efforts
  • Modify and create dynamic and engaging PowerPoint presentations
  • Oversee and ensure the execution from marketing/website suppliers is high
  • And more…

LinkedIn is a highly effective resource for finding a job. This brings me to my first step: network.  I used LinkedIn, not as a resume holder, but instead as a place where I can make  important connections.

It is not enough to just look at the post and apply. After seeing this particular post, I used LinkedIn to find key people that could provide me with the necessary leg-up. Through my search, I came in contact with the Human Resources Coordinator and a fellow classmate that worked at the company. I shot a message to the fellow classmate that works at the company, expressing my interest and asking for advice. Since I didn’t have them on my network, I asked them to connect with me and explain my situation. This is far more useful than sending your resume into the digital black hole more commonly referred to as the Internet.

After my friend gave me an email address where I could directly send my resume and cover letter, I sat down and did probably the most important part of job hunting: research.  I like my cover letter to be as specific as possible. I always put myself in the employers shoes and think, “Well , I’m not a fan of spam mail, so I’m guessing employers aren’t either.” This perspective pushes me to do the due diligence in an effort to stand out above the crowd. Before I start writing my cover letter, I go on the company’s website and research everything from when they started to what kind of culture they have. There is no need in wasting time for me or an employer, and it is important to know I will be a good fit. Once I have key points and know that I would like to work for such a company, I start my cover letter.

Once I have a tailored cover letter and a resume ready, I send it to the email address given to me by my contact. Now, until this point it might seem that this is not really going to make me stand out. Sure, everyone sends in a cover letter and resume; however, I know that the secret ingredient to standing out it’s really knowing who you are talking to and what they are looking for. Just like in marketing, you wouldn’t address a message to the wrong crowd. I really think this helps me stand out.  Finally, the most important thing is to be persistent and optimistic. If call for a a interview, I send a thank you letter thanking them for their time.

Although I have a strong online presence , it truly all comes down to showing prospective employers how knowledgeable and personable one is. Nowadays employers can find this out by doing a quick search of your name on Google. If any employers out there do this for me, I will be happy with what they find. I like that the first link Google search reveals is my twitter account. I would like to be perceived as a social media native who does not only have social media accounts but also knows how to efficiently use them. I also love that second beneath my Twitter link is probably the most important link an employer can see. The only thing I am not very happy about is a video interview I did back when I thought orange hair was cool. It was not. I obviously also missed the camera cue and was incredibly nervous. On the upside, I was proud of winning that award.

video courtesy of youtube.com

Leave a Reply

